04-13-2016 Minutes - Faculty Senate Meeting (special mtg.)

Faculty Senate Meeting

13 April 2016, 1:45pm

Sage 3303





Meeting Convened at 1:50pm

Senators present: Chris Bystroff, Dan Lewis, John Tichy, Jonas Braasch, Amir Hirsa, Diana Borca-Tasciuc, Katya Haskins, Audrey Bennett, Atsushi Akera, Lois Peters, and Antoinette Maniatty

Quorum established; 11 voting senators present.


Resolution on Student Union


Welcome by President of Senate

- President Maniatty convened the Faulty Senate Meeting and noted that quorum was achieved  


Reading of Resolution

- President Maniatty read the draft resolution.

- President Maniatty also read the email from Provost Hajela in response to the Faculty Senate consideration of this resolution



- Minor edits to the last paragraph were suggested and made

- Diana Borca-Tasciuc raised questions regarding the recommendation in the resolution not to move forward with the creation and hiring of an Executive Director; discussion followed

- Atsushi Akera called the question; Senators voted 9-1 in favor of closing discussion. (Senate President does not vote except to break a tie.)



- Pres. Maniatty called for a vote;

- Resolution passes unanimously.


Motion to adjourn; accepted by general acclaim

Meeting adjourned at 2:03pm


(Approved at 5/12/16 Senate meeting)